The Churchill Family of Schools

The Churchill Family of Schools consists of Battle Hill Primary School, Churchill Community College, Denbigh Community Primary School, Hadrian Park Primary School, St Aidan’s RC Primary School and Stephenson Memorial Primary Schools.  The aim of this group is to best support the education of and experiences available for students and staff within this family of schools.

Headteachers meet on a half termly basis to agree key priorities for the year ahead, share best practice, discuss and update on key priorities and plan for collaborative opportunities across the Family.

The Wallsend Children’s Community is also represented with the Churchill Family of Schools and provides significant support and resources to support the young people within our area.

Key areas in which we are focusing on during 2020/2021 are:-

  • Attendance
  • Curriculum Development
  • Peer Review
  • Well-being

Teaching and Learning and the development of our young people through wider participation and learning experiences are key aspects of our work and we share a range of highly valued opportunities each year:-

  • Churchill Family of Schools Learning Week – where we visit lessons across phases in order to inform our practice.
  • Collaborative Planning across subject areas
  • Joint CPD
  • Masterclasses for KS2 students in English and Maths
  • STEM Opportunities – RAF STEM Workshop, Science Week, ICE Bridge – bridge building project, STEMETTES
  • Computing and Digital – Spheros, Coding, Digital Leaders, iPad
  • Health & Wellbeing – opportunities and team games in Sport and Healthier Choices through Food Technology
  • Creative – Art and Textiles Workshops
  • Student Leadership – Sports Leaders, Transition Buddies, Digital Leaders, Edge Ambassadors
  • Team Building – Yacht / Sailing Experience


Mrs Louise Wells- Headteacher
Battle Hill Primary School
Berwick Drive, Battle Hill
Wallsend, NE28 9DH
Tel: 0191 2007246
Dr Louise Guthrie – Headteacher
Denbigh Community Primary School
Denbigh Avenue, Howdon
Wallsend, NE28 0DS
Tel: 0191 2622509
Miss Angi Gibson- Headteacher
Hadrian Park Primary School
Addington Drive, Hadrian Park
Wallsend, NE28 9RT
Tel: 0191 2007257
Mr Andrew James – Headteacher
St Aidan’s R C Primary School
Coniston Road
Tyne & Wear
NE28 0EP
Mrs Kerry Lilico – Executive Headteacher
Stephenson Memorial Primary School
Martin Road, Howdon
Wallsend, NE28 0AG
Tel: 0191 2007365